Into the Storm

13 07 2007
Actions

Information

24 responses

13 07 2007
Alan

Wow.

W O W.

You are on to something here! The pacing in the format sets a different tone than you get in the linear flow of the blog page.

I was just wondering if slideshare was going to count as one of my “50 Web 2.0 Ways To Tell a Story” and now the answer is yes.

13 07 2007
Nancy White

Something new is brewing! I love it! You go, Woman!

13 07 2007
Kerry Johnson

The combination of words and images, the pacing and the medium were moving beyond what just words on a page could convey. Fresh and beautiful – thank you!

14 07 2007
redbaiters

The poetry, the poetry!

Some of my favorite images:

“I notice the rapidly bruising sky up ahead”

“the lightening x-raying the roadside farms”

“Finally I find sense enough to pull over into the
small lake of a convenience store parking lot”

Wow, to quote Alan, what beautifully dramatic images. A convenience store a a small lake, so much here to unpack. And how telling is this built environment you capture and juxtapose with its alternative so unnervingly. What a remarkable frame to speak to the narrator’s choices throughout the deluge.

Experiments, indeed!

15 07 2007
bgexperiments

Phew—thanks you wonderful commenters–I so appreciate the feedback and am delighted you like it!

You don’t know how harrowing it was to put this little piece online where people could actually see one of my experiments. It even sent me to do a second post in a week over on bgblogging, something rare indeed.

15 07 2007
Mary Ellen

What delicious fun! It’s great to see you at play here without a net. I’ll look forward to many more entries.

16 07 2007
Marty

Just can’t get “Into the Storm” out of my mind – actually don’t want to. As Alan noted, something amazing is born from the interplay between words and images, and moments of words without images, that gives the story a life that neither alone could have done. I felt like I was living it in a new way – somehow different than simply reading a story or watching a movie.

I’m new to this world – does one read the story, watch the story, what’s the word to describe the experience of it?

17 07 2007
bgexperiments

MEB, great to see you’ve found your way here. Thanks!

Marty, thanks for describing the experience of “reading” this kind of text. You ask a great question about language–some use the word “navigate” others “read” and still others “negotiate.” I’m not at all sure we have the right word yet.

18 07 2007
Laura

I nominate “experience” a works such as this. it will take a lot of reflection before I’m able to decipher everything about it.

19 07 2007
suki

I’ve watched it over and over. I love what you are playing with here. Your story-telling skills, wonderful way with details, combined with the dynamic photo imagery is very very exciting. Please keep making these. Please keep messing around.

23 07 2007
Bryan Alexander

Super.
Questions:
1) How do you feel about the different sites for interaction here – Slideshare, this blog, your bgblogging blog?
2) What would hyperlinking do to this format?

23 07 2007
bgexperiments

Laura, I like “experience,” too, though then what do we call the person who does the experiencing? Sometimes our language falls short… I will keep thinking about this one.

Suki, I’m glad you see the potential in this mix of image and text; I have a new one brewing though upcoming travels will probably delay it. But yes, it is exciting and fun; it is a medium that suits my writing self.

Bryan, thanks for your questions and your nod over on infocult.

Answers:
1. I love having the different sites, choosing bits and pieces, and having a blog all and only about experimenting–bgblogging will be all the richer for it, I already know. I’m thinking about ways I could pull together voicethread and slideshare–this is where twitter has proven a key because I can toss a question out and people will offer solutions or links or encouragement. My Web 2.0 world allows me to spread my creative wings.

I do want a new kind of integration of my sites–is it Facebook? Is it Superglu? I also used Flickr but moved to Slideshare before I read cogdog’s post on Flickr’s new slide options.

2. I’ve actually been playing around with that in my new piece. Hypertext shifts the whole experience from the inexorable advancing of slides to something much more discursive. Some pieces will want hyperlinking, others not. Can’t wait to keep exploring how form follows function AND how new forms allow for new functions.

All I wanna do is play…

24 07 2007
50 Web 2.0 Ways To Tell a Story » CogDogBlog

[…] now, in honor of the creativity of Barbara Ganley, who ventured out a beautiful experiment in telling a story in images and text via slideshare. So here is Dominoe, recast into slideshare (mixed images and text in Powerpoint to get […]

24 07 2007
Martha

I don’t know how I missed this when you published it, but I did. Just read it now. (I vote for “read,” BTW because I have this love for the way in which “read” can mean so many things depending on the con/text. I read books, people, movies. Everything is a text of some kind, when you conceive of “text” broadly, generically, and creatively.)

I reiterate everything said above , and simply add that it gave me chills.

*Thank you* for sharing this.

28 07 2007
Gardner

So much yearning tension here between event and metaphor. I found myself paying attention to how long I waited to advance the slide; my timing seemed to me to have as much or more to do with the beats of the narrative as with the details of the image. Fascinating how the images were not just illustrations, but integral engines of that yearning tension.

Please keep playing.

29 07 2007
Eli Menaker

Barbara, this is amazing. At first it seems like a regression from digital storytelling – removing the music and the voiceover to be replaced by text – but in reality, this allows a far more purposefully paced reading of the narrative. I think I will try something similar soon, and send it to you for approval. Perhaps this could be another aspect of this ever-growing Kenyan project. Maybe we could work on a portfolio of stories using different mediums. Something to think about.
See you in a month or so.
– Eli

9 08 2007
bgexperiments

Wow, while I was in the Canadian Rockies, hiking, kicking back and taking LOTS of pictures as I sketched out new experiments, here come more readers! Lovely!

I am, of course, delighted by your post, Alan, and Dominoe–what a great story and well told. I’m looking forward to writing and reading more of these.

Martha, Gardner and Eli–thanks for the feedback. It’s really helpful to follow how you read this experiment. I’m so pleased that you found yourself slowing down enough to take in the images as much as the words. I really do think there is a future for this kind of storytelling, and I am playing around with it as much as I can tear myself away from all the things I must do. Eli, yes, absolutely, do some of these as part of your thesis. I can see it.

Now I am off to Ireland for a week–with my camera and computer and pen. I’m interested in how this work becomes shaped by where I am and how images pull me into story as much as the stories I hear along the way.

~Barbara

8 01 2008
acfowler

Ahh! This one was enthralling. After the end of the slideshow I kept on clicking the ‘next’ button, waiting for another frame.

The images and text work well together, but I find the “I barely breathe,” “I don’t want to be late” and the “so I leave” slides the most powerful. It’s amazing what blackness can do after seeing all those images. I found those slides to be more personal and they mark necessary but unforced pauses in the story.

Nice work with the text layout, too. I particularly liked the “headlights snapping on.”

I like how you mention different forms of water — the rain, the channels, the tsunami — and how, for a moment, they made you think about ad helped you escape from the mainstream bubble.

In a way, you’ve also conveyed the feebleness of human nature, and that’s powerful in itself.

Do you have more?

8 01 2008
Abhishek Sripad

I had a lot of the same comments as acfowler. While all the slides with pictures were fantastic, the pages without any images remained in my mind the most, particularly “so I leave.” The location of the phrase on the page was interesting…the bottom right corner. We usually associate this with turning the page, or perhaps more importantly, leaving the page we are on.

You capture the human tendency to leave abruptly, and cement it into the reader’s mind by using the black screen as a background. For me, this slide came to mind in the last two pages of the piece. It all came together….when you actually left, were you thinking anything? Is that what the picture-less slide indicates?

These are the types of questions that come from this work, and one of the reasons why I really enjoyed it.

-Abhishek

8 01 2008
Miriam

What an experience! (I’m going with “experience” for this one, like Laura, but I’m not going to commit to it, since this is really the first story of this kind that I’ve…umm…yeah).

At the beginning, I was definitely completely focused on text, as I would have been had I stumbled upon this story on the internet a week ago. A few pictures in, I realized my mistake and really started to focus. Your choice of pictures and layout of text definitely changes something immense. There’s a tone there that doesn’t come from the words themselves. I know (and I promise I was thinking this before reading Annabelle’s and Abhishek’s posts!) because after the first black slide, “I barely breathe,” I felt my own breath catch at each following black slide.

I’m particularly curious about the third slide, about the rearview… mirror? It’s neat how the pictures look fragmented, like they would in a rearview mirror, but I can tell there are words back there behind one of the pictures. What do they say?

Replay time!

8 01 2008
Cloe

That left me with a very strange feeling. Perhaps it was the images behind the text, that made the short story feel like a virtual experience, but I think that your experience of being rushed and later wondering about his life is something that we all have experienced with strangers. I really love this.

9 01 2008
rredmond4

Very adventurous. I like the blank slides with only writing. They change the rhythm of the piece completely – making it more tense and rushed. I think the rhythm changes really add to the suspense of the piece.

The guilt at the end is pretty interesting too. You also reveal some selfishness – Do I stay with the boy or go to the meeting? Of course you choose to be timely and go to your meeting.

I like the snake a lot too. What’s Jimmy Mo doing in there?

29 02 2008
Telling a Story

[…] I thought this was a lovely way to tell a story. […]

22 08 2008
On Taking Pictures Shifting the Way I Blog, On Blogging Changing the Way I Take Pictures « (the new) bgblogging

[…] thus my Flickr sets and my text-only notebooks are sketches only and not as interesting to me as my stories, my presentations, some of my […]

Leave a Reply

